Skip to main content

What do I do with a payment plan that has expired?

If a payment plan has expired, you can terminate it so that your customer starts receiving regular reminders again.

We consider a payment plan expired when the most recent instalment of the payment plan is in the past but has not yet been paid.

How do I know when a payment plan has expired?

There are three places where you can see that a payment plan has expired: in the 'Customers' widget on the dashboard, as a filter in the customer overview, and via an email notification.

Dashboard

On the dashboard, you can see which payment plans have expired in the 'Customers' widget under 'Expired payment plans'.

Filter on 'Customers' page

You can filter for expired payment plans.

  1. Open the customer overview via the 'Customers' button in the menu.

  2. Use the filters on the left. Click 'Expired payment plan' under 'Attention'.

customers_filter_attention_expired_payment_plan

Notification for completed or expired payment plans

You can receive a notification when a payment plan instalment has been expired for X number of days.

  1. Open the administration settings via the cogwheel icon in the top right of Payt.

  2. Click the 'Notifications' tab on the left.

  3. Enable the notification 'Notification when a payment plan expires' and specify after how many days you want to receive a notification.

payment_plan_notifications_expires_expired_closes

How do I end the payment plan?

You can manually terminate expired payment plans, or you can choose to automatically terminate expired payment plans after a certain number of days.

When the payment plan is terminated (automatically or manually), the original reminder flow of the invoice will be resumed.

Manually ending a payment plan

To manually terminate a payment plan:

  1. Open the payment plan from the customer, invoice, or debt collection case page.

  2. Choose 'Actions' in the top right and select 'Deactivate'.

The payment plan will be terminated immediately.

payment_plan_actions_deactivate

Automatically ending payment plans

You can also have payment plans terminated automatically if they have not been paid within the payment term.

  1. Open your administration settings.

  2. Go to the 'Invoicing' tab on the left.

  3. Enable the toggle 'Automatically deactivate payment plans'.

  4. Specify how many days after the due date the plan should be terminated if the customer has not yet paid.

The due date in this setting refers to a scheduled instalment in a payment plan. This does not have to be the last instalment of a payment plan, but applies to every instalment within the plan.

How can I edit the payment plan?

You could also choose to adjust the payment plan to extend the terms or add or remove an invoice from the plan.

Did this answer your question?